Recipes

An unexpected dinner – Deer Tenderloin Steaks

I was planning to do something simple for dinner, tostadas. I had a lot of homework to do, laundry to fold and put away, and dishes that needed to be done. So a simple dinner was ideal. Well, I got the deer meat out of the freezer, thawed it in the microwave, without unwrapping the paper, and then let it finish thawing while I got a few other things done around the house.  Got everything done, and decided to start browning the meat so we could eat as soon as Josh got home. Unwrapped the meat…and it was DEER TENDERLOIN STEAKS…not ground venison. What am I supposed to do with these?! First of all, I had NEVER had deer in the kitchen until Josh and I got married. So it’s all still new to me. So what do I do…GOOGLE!  It looked to me like most people fried them, like a chicken fried steak. So, that’s what I did. And ya know what, they were REALLY good. I couldn’t tell they were deer at all. Josh said they would taste rather “gamey” if I didn’t season them up, and I told him I was doing all I could. So when you have a “deer fried steak”, what are your sides? Mashed potatoes and gravy of course! So, my simple meal idea turned into a ‘down home country dinner’. 🙂

 

Here’s what I did:

  • Deer tenderloin steaks
  • Flour
  • Daddy Hinkles Original seasoning
  • Pepper
  • Ranch powder seasoning
  • Egg
  • Oil
  • Milk (for the gravy)

 

Breading: Flour, Daddy Hinkles Original seasoning, pepper, and Ranch seasoning.  (Of course there’s no measurements. Just eyeball it for the amount of steaks you have)

Coat the steak in the breading, egg, back to the breading, and then place in the skillet with a thin layer of oil. Brown each side for about 4-6 minutes over medium heat.

Once the steaks are done, use the drippings in the skillet and any remaining breading mixture to make your gravy for your potatoes and steak.

Leave a Reply

