Recipes

Potato Salad

I have NEVER liked potato salad. Potatoes are supposed to be hot, with gravy, or cheesy…not cold! YUCK! So for Josh’s surprise birthday party, I asked my mother-in-law to bring potato salad. Why? Because other people like it, just not me. But I figured, since I did ask her to bring it, I should at LEAST try it. So I put a very small spoonful on my plate, and it was the last thing I ate. What’s this? I LIKE IT? Uhh…now I’m confused. I’m not sure what’s so different about her potato salad recipe, but I’m still convinced I don’t like any OTHER potato salad.

This is Memorial Day weekend, and for the past 11 years, my family (mom’s side) has had a family reunion in Branson. It’s such a great time, with AMAZING food. So, what did I offer to make? Potato salad. So, here’s the recipe from my mother-in-law.

  • 1 Russet potato per person
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 5 boiled eggs

Dressing:

  • 1 cup Mayo
  • 1/4 cup mustard
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup Milnot (evaporated milk)
  • 1/4 cup vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon dill weed

I boiled the potatoes whole. Placing them in a large pot of cold water, and allowing the water to boil with the potatoes already in the water. I think this helped the potatoes adjust to the water temperature evenly. If the water was hot, the outside would soften and the middle would be raw.

I tested the potatoes every 3-5 minutes once the water began boiling. It was probably about 8-10 minutes once the water was boiling. Put the potatoes aside to cool completely.

20140522_183153
chopped potatoes

 

I chopped the onion, and placed it in a bowl filled with vinegar. Before adding the onion to the salad, drain the vinegar WELL. (Almost towel dried)

20140522_183258
add the chopped onions

 

Chop the boiled eggs.

20140522_183902
add the chopped eggs

 

Combine all ingredients for the dressing.

20140522_183351
add the dressing

 

Combine all ingredients, and Voila!

 

20140523_073052
Paprika for a little color

 

I boiled the eggs and potatoes about 2 days prior to needing them, mainly due to my schedule. I also made the dressing ahead of time.  Once you’re ready to make the salad, peel the potatoes before chopping.  Add all ingredients and stir.  Potato salads, like coleslaw, are best if they able to sit for several hours, or overnight, before serving.

ENJOY!!

 

Leave a Reply

