Everyday Life

Gentry goes POTTY!

On July 25th, Gentry had 2 milestones!  Not only did she turn 16 months old, but she started her morning off with her first ever pee-pee in the potty!!  We were so shocked and proud of her!!  She has shown us several times that she is wet by pointing to her diaper.  Sometimes she’ll point, and still be dry, but about 5-10 minutes later…she’s wet!  She’ll go get her own diaper and lay down for you to change it, too.  To me, those signs show me that she’s trying to put things together!  So, I bought a little potty.  She’s sat on it several times, but just for a few seconds at a time.  It’s never been successful, but I feel like learning and associating the potty early on, and by watching me in the bathroom, she is really putting it all together.  So, we sat her down, and within 1 minute, her potty was singing!!!   Our jaws dropped and I squealed, and she got all excited!!  (Don’t worry, I’m fully aware that it was probably just luck…)  But what does it hurt to let her sit on it.  I don’t scold her if she doesn’t go…and she WANTS to sit on it.  I don’t force her to sit on it.  I know she’s very young, and doesn’t full understand.  But she wants to sit on it, so why not let her!?

We didn’t have any other successful attempts the rest of the week.  Some mornings she would potty in her diaper before she finished her milk, or she would sit on there and never go.  Let’s fast forward to Saturday, July 30th.  We sat on the potty when she woke up, and she peed again!!  She was super excited to hear the potty sing to her again!  After her nap, she woke up dry, and I asked her if she wanted to sit on the potty like a big girl…she hopped down, and ran to the bathroom, so we sat on it again.  She sat there for a really long time.  We read her book multiple times, played with her bear that sings to her, and she just sat there.  Nothing came out…  I wasn’t surprised, because her diaper was already wet when I got her out of her bed, but I asked, and she wanted to sit there…so why not.  After a few minutes, I started to smell something.  I was like…she must be tooting!  A couple more minutes go by, and she is ready to get up.  She stands up, and O.M.G.!  SHE POOPED!!!  I couldn’t believe it!  I never even knew she was going!  She was so excited when I started cheering for her!

This morning, she was still dry after she finished her milk, so I asked her if she wanted to sit on the potty like a big girl, and she did, so we went downstairs to her potty.  By the time we got down there, she had already gone in her diaper, but we still sat down.  After about 30 seconds, she went potty!  It wasn’t very much, but it was enough to make the potty sing again!  She was so excited!!

She’s learning so quickly!  Obviously we aren’t fully trying to potty train her, but it doesn’t hurt anything to let her sit there when she wants to…

(I won’t post the toilet pics…LOL!)

Leave a Reply

